Virginia Department of Transportation Leadership

Click a name for biographical information.

Central Office

Commissioner: Charles A. Kilpatrick, P. E.

Chief Deputy Commissioner: Quintin D. Elliott

Chief Engineer: Garrett W. Moore, P.E.

Deputy Chief Engineer: Mohammad Mirshahi, P.E.

Chief Financial Officer: John W. Lawson

Chief of Policy: Richard L. Walton

Chief of Administration: Wanda Wells

Chief of Innovation and Technology: Robert H. Cary, P.E., L.S.


District Engineers / Administrators

Bristol: Randy L. Hamilton, P.E.

Culpeper: John D. Lynch, P.E

Fredericksburg: Marcie Parker, P.E.

Hampton Roads: James S. Utterback, PMP

Lynchburg: Christopher L. Winstead, P.E.

Northern Virginia: Helen L. Cuervo, P.E.

Richmond: Barton A. Thrasher, P.E.

Salem:  Ken H. King, P.E.

Staunton: Randy S. Kiser, P.E.

Printable version with division information PDF (PDF, 80 KB) 


The commissioner's staff is composed of six chiefs of the Virginia Department of Transportation's (VDOT) divisions, nine district administrators and an inspector general.


Page last modified: Oct. 24, 2017