VDOT News - Fredericksburg



Darragh Frye 540-899-4119


June 12, 2018

Separate, free-flow lane from I-95 southbound ramp to Carl D. Silver Parkway at Exit 130B will open the morning of Thursday, June 14

FREDERICKSBURG – The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) will open the separate, free flow lane from the Interstate 95 southbound exit ramp to Carl D. Silver Parkway in Fredericksburg early Thursday, June 14.

The slip ramp is part of the $21 million project to improve safety and enhance operations at Exit 130. Work is underway to modify the on- and off-ramps at the Route 3 interchange to reduce vehicle merging and weaving that can lead to crashes, injuries and congestion. 

The new lane will allow I-95 southbound traffic to directly exit the interstate and enter the Central Park shopping area without merging with traffic on Route 3 westbound. 

Weather permitting, the free-flowing lane will open to traffic between 2 a.m. and 5 a.m. on Thursday, June 14. 

Message boards have been posted to alert drivers to the new traffic pattern. 

I-95 southbound travelers who take Exit 130B and do not exit to the slip ramp will still be able to access Central Park from Route 3 westbound with dual right turn lanes onto Carl D. Silver Parkway. 

What’s Next?

Currently, crews are working in the median along Route 3 eastbound and along the on-ramp to I-95 northbound to build 3 left turn lanes just beyond the I-95 overpass. Once the project is complete, traffic will turn left onto the northbound on-ramp controlled by a new traffic signal. 

Construction on the I-95 Safety Improvements Project at Route 3 began in July 2017 and the project’s final completion date is January 2019.  

For more information, please visit the project page at www.VirginiaDOT.org .


Motorists can find real-time information on lane closures, work zones, traffic and other incidents on 511Virginia.

Download the free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit www.511Virginia.org. Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.



VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: June 12, 2018