VDOT News - Fredericksburg



Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344


June 18, 2018

Join us for a “Pardon Our Dust” public meeting from 5-7 p.m. on Thursday, July 12 at James Monroe High School in Fredericksburg

FREDERICKSBURG – The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) will host a “Pardon Our Dust” public information meeting ahead of construction beginning to add three new I-95 southbound travel lanes in the Fredericksburg area as part of the I-95 Southbound Rappahannock River Crossing project.   

The “Pardon Our Dust” public meeting will be held: 

Thursday, July 12, 2018

5-7 p.m.*

James Monroe High School

2300 Washington Avenue

Fredericksburg, VA 22401

*A presentation will be delivered at 5:15 p.m. and will be repeated at 6:15 p.m. 

Stop by between 5-7 p.m. to learn more about the project and how upcoming construction will affect travel on the I-95 corridor in the Fredericksburg area. VDOT and project contractor staff will be available to answer questions. 

Construction will begin in August 2018 and conclude in 2022. The project seeks to reduce I-95 congestion by doubling I-95 southbound capacity in the Fredericksburg area, and dividing traffic into local and through traffic lanes. 

Three additional lanes of I-95 southbound will be built in the existing I-95 median. The new lanes will begin just north of I-95 Exit 133 (Route 17) and end just south of I-95 Exit 130 (Route 3). Through traffic passing through the Fredericksburg area can choose to enter the through traffic lanes or remain in the existing southbound lanes, which will serve local traffic exiting at Route 17, the Safety Rest Area and Welcome Center, or Route 3. Signs will help drivers distinguish between the local and through travel lanes. 

A new bridge will be built over the Rappahannock River parallel to the existing interstate bridges to carry the new through lanes. 

On Route 17, the project will modify several of the I-95 entrance and exit ramps at Exit 133. The project will also replace the I-95 overpasses of Route 17. 

For additional information, please visit the project page at improve95.org.




VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: June 18, 2018