VDOT News - Hampton Roads



Dave Forster 757-925-2583

Aug. 24, 2018

Relocation follows more than 60 years at former complex

SUFFOLK – VDOT Hampton Roads employees celebrated a major address change today with a ribbon-cutting at their new north Suffolk headquarters.

The move took workers from an aging complex of scattered buildings and trailers in Downtown Suffolk to an 85,000-square-foot, three-story building at 7511 Burbage Drive in the Harbour View area. The relocation aimed to bring as many of VDOTs operations as possible under one roof, allowing easier communications and collaboration between departments, while updating technologies and moving closer to Hampton Roads’ urban centers.

"As we continue to add capacity and increase multi-modal transportation options in this region, it is vital to ensure our facilities are modern and ready to accommodate the workload that the VDOT mission demands,” said VDOT Commissioner Stephen Brich. “This new facility shows VDOT is committed to supporting its most valuable resource – its people – and ensures each employee can focus and be productive in a modern work environment."

The agency’s size and organizational structure in Hampton Roads was not changed by the move. The District’s commitment to serving the public also remains the same.

"The demand on our transportation network never stops, and neither do we,” District Engineer Chris Hall said. “Yes, we have a new home, which I truly believe will help us do things better, smarter and faster. However, it is the people inside this place -- along with our team across the Residences and outlying facilities -- who ultimately determine how we will rise to the daily challenge of keeping people and commerce moving."

About 250 people will work out of the new headquarters building. VDOT Hampton Roads has numerous other locations throughout its District, which covers nine counties and 11 cities.

Joining in the ribbon-cutting are (left to right) Suffolk City Councilman Lue Ward, Vice Mayor Leroy Bennett, State Sen. John Cosgrove, VDOT Hampton Roads District Engineer Chris Hall,  VDOT Commissioner Stephen C. Brich, Deputy Secretary of Transportation Quintin Elliott, Deputy Secretary of Administration Grindly Johnson, Commonwealth Transportation Board member Stephen A. Johnsen and VDOT Chief Deputy Commissioner Robert Cary. (Tom Saunders/VDOT)

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Aug. 24, 2018