VDOT News - Staunton



Sandy Myers 540-332-9201
540-292-2500 (cell)

Ken Slack 540-332-9264
540-414-5670 (cell)

June 29, 2017


STAUNTON – (6:20 a.m.) Both northbound lanes of Interstate 81 are closed in Rockbridge County due to a tractor trailer crash that took place about 4:15 a.m. at mile marker 175 in the Natural Bridge area. Recovery crews are working to remove the vehicles involved in the crash, but there is no estimate on when the northbound lanes will reopen. Traffic is currently backed up about three miles.

Northbound traffic is being detoured off I-81 at exit 168 in Botetourt County. Motorists follow the interstate frontage road (F055/Lee Highway) north into Rockbridge County and rejoin northbound I-81 at exit 175.

Motorists should use extreme caution, follow signs and variable message boards, and expect delays on this portion of northbound I-81.

Traffic alerts and traveler information can be obtained by dialing 511. Traffic alerts and traveler information also are available at http://www.511Virginia.org.

The VDOT Customer Service Center can assist with reporting road hazards, asking transportation questions, or getting information related to Virginia’s roads. Call 800-FOR- ROAD (800-367-7623) or use its mobile friendly website at https://my.vdot.virginia.gov/. Agents are available 24 hours-a-day, seven days a week.

The Staunton District Twitter feed is at @VaDOTStaunton. VDOT can be followed on Facebook, Flickr, Twitter and YouTube. RSS feeds are also available for statewide information. The VDOT Web page is located at http://www.VirginiaDOT.org

The VDOT Staunton District serves Frederick, Shenandoah, Clarke, Warren, Page, Rockingham, Augusta, Highland, Rockbridge, Alleghany and Bath counties.


Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: June 29, 2017