Greenspring | Chickahominy Riverfront | Sherwood Forest | Charles City Courthouse
New Market Heights | Varina | Park | Richmond Riverfront

 Virginia's Capital Trails Learn more about the Richmond Riverfront Phase Learn more about the New Market Heights Phase Learn more about the Varina Phase Learn more about the Charles City Phase Learn more about the Sherwood Forest Phase Learn more about the Chickahominy Riverfront Phase Learn more about the Greensprings Phase Learn more about the Park Phase

Click on a section of the trail for more information

Project photos on Flickr

From the Canal Walk in the heart of Richmond’s upscale Shockoe Valley to the Governor’s Mansion in Colonial Williamsburg, the Virginia Capital Trail traverses a beautiful landscape as it parallels historic Route 5. The approximately 51-mile trail travels through portions of Henrico, Charles City, and James City counties along the way as it connects the previous capitals of Jamestown (1607-1699) and Williamsburg (1699-1780) to its current capital of Richmond (1780-present).

The Trail ranges in width between eight and ten feet, and is paved throughout its entire length to accommodate all modes of non-motorized transportation. Construction of the Trail took place in phases. 

A 360 degree panoramic Trail view is available for the Richmond Riverfront, Chickahominy Riverfront and Greenspring phases here

Capital Trail Foundation

The Virginia Capital Trail Foundation (VCTF) is a public-private partnership whose mission is to support and promote the construction, public use and ongoing enhancement of the Virginia Capital Trail. As working partners on this unique project, the VCTF and VDOT are committed to fulfilling the vision of former governors Mark Warner and Bob McDonnell and with the continued support of Governor Terry McAuliffe to ensure the Trail becomes a cultural asset and source of regional pride for the Commonwealth.

If you would like to support the Foundation, or have questions about the Virginia Capital Trail, please send an email to or visit the Foundation’s Web site.

Page last modified: Sept. 17, 2015