VDOT News - Fredericksburg



Darragh Frye 540-899-4119


April 12, 2021

All Route 17 northbound traffic near I-95 will be stopped intermittently between 11 p.m. and 3 a.m. starting Monday, April 12 through early Wednesday, April 14

UPDATE: Crews were able to complete the beam installation for the future I-95 southbound overpass this morning, April 13. The scheduled full traffic stops on Route 17 northbound are no longer needed. Drivers should anticipate alternating, single lane closures on Route 17 northbound and southbound between 8 p.m. - 7 a.m. each evening through early Friday, April 16.

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Crews will continue installing the new steel beams on the future Interstate 95 southbound bridge spanning Route 17 in Stafford County as part of the I-95 Southbound Rappahannock River Crossing project.

The work requires intermittent full traffic stops on Route 17.

Starting at 8 p.m. tonight, April 12, drivers should expect alternating, single lane closures on Route 17 between Sanford Drive and Short Street to get equipment into place ahead of the beam lifts.

All Route 17 northbound traffic will be stopped up to 30 minutes at a time between 11 p.m. and 3 a.m. each evening to lift and secure the bridge beams into place.

Weather permitting, lane closures on Route 17 are scheduled at the following times:

Monday, April 12 – Wednesday, April 14
• 8 p.m. – 10:59 p.m. – Single lane closures
• 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. – Full traffic stop up to 30 minutes on Route 17 northbound
• 3 a.m. – 6:59 a.m. – Single lane closures
• 7 a.m. – All lanes open.

Virginia State Police will assist with traffic control in the work zone.

For additional information, please visit the project page on the Improve 95 website.


Motorists can find real-time information on lane closures, work zones, traffic and other incidents on 511Virginia.
Download the free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit www.511Virginia.org. Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Aug. 17, 2023