VDOT News - Fredericksburg


IMMEDIATE - 5 p.m.

Darragh Frye 540-899-4119


Feb. 14, 2021

Drivers should never move or drive around “Road Closed” signs

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Crews with the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) worked all day to remove downed trees and utility lines to reopen as many roads as possible in the hardest hit areas of the Fredericksburg District, including Caroline, Lancaster, Northumberland, Essex, King and Queen, King William and Middlesex counties.

Nearly 30 roads remain closed in the Fredericksburg District. Many of these roads are closed due to downed trees and branches entangled with power lines.

VDOT crews are being assisted by tree removal contractors, and are coordinating with utility companies to reopen the roads and restore power.

Before starting a trip, drivers are advised to check 511Virginia for a real-time list of roads closed along their route.

Motorists should never move or drive around “Road Closed” signs. The sign is in place because the roadway is not safe for travel.

Cleanup efforts will continue until all state-maintained roads are safe for travel.

Most roadways in the Fredericksburg, Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula area are clear of snow and ice. Crews will still monitor road conditions overnight and respond to treat any isolated icy patches.

VDOT Customer Service Center

If motorists encounter a downed tree or another hazard in the road, do not attempt to move it. VDOT’s Customer Service Center is open 24 hours a day to answer questions and take reports of roadway hazards at 1-800-FOR-ROAD (367-7623) or online at https://my.vdot.virginia.gov.

Additional VDOT Information Sources

• Find VDOT Fredericksburg District news releases online on VDOT’s website, www.VirginiaDOT.org, under “Newsroom.”
• Follow VDOT on Twitter @VaDOT and @VaDOTFRED
• Connect with us on Facebook on our VDOT page, and VDOT Fredericksburg District group page.

Call 511, visit www.511Virginia.org, or use VDOT’s 511Virginia free mobile app to find real-time road conditions in any area of the state.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: June 3, 2023