VDOT News - Fredericksburg


IMMEDIATE - 5:10 p.m.

Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344
(540) 656-0321 cell


March 29, 2021

All northbound and southbound lanes are closed just south of exit 126 (Spotsylvania) for a truck crash and fire near the Route 17 (Mills Drive) overpass

6:25 P.M. UPDATE: Interstate 95 northbound remains closed in Spotsylvania County for emergency response and cleanup for an earlier truck crash and fire at mile marker 125. All I-95 northbound traffic is being detoured at exit 118 (Thornburg) to use Route 1 northbound as an alternate route.

A single southbound lane of I-95 is now closed at mile marker 123 in Spotsylvania. The southbound lane closure is needed to allow crews to use a crossover to let northbound traffic stopped between exit 118 and mile marker 125 turn around and travel southbound. All other northbound traffic is being detoured at exit 118.

5:50 P.M. UPDATE: All lanes of Interstate 95 southbound in Spotsylvania County have reopened at mile marker 125, just south of exit 126 (Spotsylvania).

I-95 northbound remains closed for a truck crash and fire just south of exit 126. All northbound traffic is being detoured from I-95 at exit 118 (Thornburg) to Route 1 northbound.

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – All lanes of Interstate 95 are closed in Spotsylvania County just south of exit 126 (Spotsylvania) for a truck crash and fire.

Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) crews are traveling to the scene to assist with traffic control and establishing a detour route along Route 1.

Major travel delays on I-95 are anticipated to extend through the evening rush hour in the Fredericksburg area. Travelers can also anticipate significant delays on Route 1 in the Fredericksburg area, and other regional corridors. Motorists are encouraged to seek alternate routes and avoid the area if possible.

Real-time updates on lane closures for this incident are available on 511Virginia.org.

Download the free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected. Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.

Follow VDOT Fredericksburg District on Twitter @VaDOTFRED.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania, and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster, and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews, and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: June 2, 2023