VDOT News - Fredericksburg



Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344
(540) 656-0321 cell


Feb. 26, 2021

Starting Wednesday, March 3, one-way traffic will alternate in emergency repair work zone controlled by a temporary traffic signal

MARCH 2, 2021 UPDATE: Route 17 in Caroline County has reopened to through traffic between Route 615 (Ware Creek Road) and Route 719 (Mount Road). A temporary traffic signal is now active to direct one-way, alternating traffic through the site of an emergency repair work zone. The temporary traffic signal was able to be activated earlier than the previously announced March 3, 2021 date

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Route 17 (Tidewater Trail) in Caroline County will reopen to through traffic on Wednesday, March 3, at the site of an emergency road repair.

A temporary traffic signal will control one-way, alternating traffic through the work zone, which is located between Route 615 (Ware Creek Road) and Route 719 (Mount Road) in Caroline.

Route 17 is currently closed to through traffic between Route 2 at New Post in Spotsylvania County and Route 301 at Port Royal.

The temporary traffic signal is expected to be activated by Wednesday evening, but motorists are encouraged to check 511Virginia for real-time updates. Signs for the posted detour route will be removed once the temporary traffic signal is activated.

Route 17 was closed for motorist safety on Feb. 9. Heavy rain caused an adjacent slope to fail, as well as a 150-foot drainage pipe located about 80 feet below the road.

Procurement is underway to repair the slope and drainage pipe.


Motorists can find real-time information on work zones, traffic, incidents and lane closures on 511Virginia.

Download the free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit www.511Virginia.org. Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: May 19, 2023