Open to the Public


The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) and the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation offer many opportunities for citizens to learn about and give their opinions on transportation projects and issues. (Nondiscrimination policy).

For details on a particular meeting, contact the VDOT district office nearest the location. District descriptions, phone numbers and email addresses are on our transportation directory page.


Public Hearings, Meetings, Events and Comment Opportunities

Detail links are PDFs adobe reader

Date Event Location
Sept. 23, 2022

10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Public meeting

Chapter 425 Stakeholder Advisory Group 1st Meeting

Details >

Highway Building
1221 East Broad Street, Richmond

Sept. 28, 2022

5 – 7 p.m.

Design public hearing

Route 3 (Plank Road) and Route 621 (Orange Plank Road) Intersection Safety Modification Spotsylvania County

Details >

Chancellor Elementary School
5995 Plank Road Fredericksburg, VA 22407

By Oct. 7, 2022

Public notice

Through Truck Traffic Restriction Westmoreland County

Details >


Oct. 17, 2022

6:30 p.m

Public meeting

St Louis Road over Goose Creek Bridge Rehabilitation Loudoun County

Virtual Public Information Meeting

Details >

Oct. 19, 2022

4 – 6 p.m.

Design public hearing

Route 11 North (North Valley Pike) Rockingham County Sidewalk Project

Details >

VDOT Harrisonburg Residency
3536 North Valley Pike
Harrisonburg, VA 22802


Commonwealth Transportation Board

Appointed by the governor, the 17-member Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) establishes administrative policies for Virginia's transportation system.

The CTB allocates highway funding to specific projects, locates routes and provides funding for airports, seaports and public transportation.

The board usually meets on the third Tuesday and Wednesday of the month in months where meetings are scheduled.

For specific meeting, times and locations, consult the meeting schedule.

Ad hoc meetings may also be called at the discretion of the Secretary of Transportation.



Page last modified: Sept. 20, 2022